William Duncan Strong Memorial Award

WD Strong Logo

The Nebraska Association of Professional Archeologists has established the William Duncan Strong Memorial Award to recognize persons who, over the span of their professional careers or private lives, have made substantial contributions of lasting value to the knowledge, appreciation, and/or preservation of Nebraska’s archeological heritage.

The first recipient of the award was Dr. Waldo R. Wedel, whose many researches in Central Plains archeology over the course of a career that spanned six decades are well known to the Plains Anthropologist readership. The award, which was first bestowed April 8, 1994, consists of a plaque and appreciatory certificate, as well as a perpetual plaque displayed at the Nebraska State Archeology Offices (History Nebraska).

Past Recipients of the William Duncan Strong Memorial Award:

  • Waldo Wedel (1994)
  • James & Dolores Gunnerson (1995)
  • David Gradwohl (2009)
  • W. Raymond Wood (2009)
  • Gayle Carlson (2013)
  • Donna C. Roper (2015)
  • Peter Bleed (2016)
  • Rob Bozell (2021)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s